idoedistinguishedschoolsThe Indiana Department of Education recognized two schools as 2016 Title I Distinguished School Award winners.  Both schools are in districts that are members of the Indiana Urban Schools Association. The Title I Distinguished School Award is given to schools that demonstrate student achievement and progress through innovative approaches to teaching and learning.

IUSA congratulates Jame A. Allison Elementary in School Town of Speedway recognized for showing high student achievement “through a culture of high expectations,” and Donald E. Gavit Middle/High School in School City of Hammond recognized for Closing the Achievement Gap through its efforts to motivate and engage students. The school’s mentoring program and the establishment of AP courses has helped move the school forward, according to the IDOE.

Follow the link to read Chalkbeat’s story about Allison Elementary How convincing teachers they could be ‘great’ helped transform this Indianapolis school.

Follow the link to learn more about these awards.

Subscribe To OurBlog Feed!

Subscribe To OurBlog Feed!

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This