Congratulations to the award-winning educators in Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation (EVSC).

Jennifer Martin, Bosse High School teacher, is among the cohort of 2017-18 Indiana University Armstrong Educator Award.  As an Armstrong Teacher Educator Award recipient, she is recognized for her educator excellence with the opportunity to work with current Indiana University (IU) faculty and undergraduates in the classroom and early field experiences. Included is reimbursement for travel and lodging expenses when visiting the Bloomington campus, funding to pay for a substitute teacher while away from the classroom, and a $500 honorarium for participation in a fall semester discussion panel at IU.

Ryan Merriwether, Bosse Assistant Principal, was selected as a Claes Nobel Educator of Distinction by The National Society of High School Scholars (NSHSS). Ryan joins a network of approximately 40,000 educators nationwide who have been recognized since 2007.  Educators of Distinction are acknowledged as outstanding role models and exemplary practitioners who are making a lasting difference in a student’s life by encouraging them to strive for excellence, not just in their academic pursuits, but in all their endeavors.  Educators of Distinction are part of a network invited to attend the Society’s member events around the country and are recognized with a personalized certificated presented by NSHSS Founder and Chairman Claes Nobel.

Additionally, several EVSC programs, employees, and students were recognized at the annual Leadership Evansville Celebration of Leadership Awards. Please join us in extending congratulations to the following members of the EVSC school community:

  • Individual: Tiffany Ball, manager of special projects and student programs
  • Project or Program: Randall T. Shepard Leadership and Law Academy
  • Leaders in Technology Award: New Tech Institute
  • Shirley James “Greening the Community Award”: Caze Garden Project
  • Bryce Jordan Servant Leader Award: Lino and Pam Wiseman (for their work with Hangers)
  • Visionary Award: Academy for Innovative Studies, First Avenue – CNA Program
  • Sam Featherstone Individual Award: Katherine Cartwright, Evans
  • Sam Featherstone Project or Program: Jessica Clark, senior at North High School

This post was created in collaboration with Jason Woebkenberg, Chief Communication Officer, Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation

 Indiana’s urban schools offer Hoosier students a rich array of programs, services, and opportunities. IUSA appreciates the opportunity to share the stories that demonstrate what the schools have to offer and the many successes their students, faculty and staff achieve.


Subscribe To OurBlog Feed!

Subscribe To OurBlog Feed!

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This